Success at Canterbury 10

The Canterbury 10 is always a popular event with FRC runners, although this year quite a few people were caught out by the race selling out, there were still 17 members taking part. A strong wind made for some tough running conditions, but despite this there were some great performances.

It was a very close battle for the first two runners for the club with Ian McGilloway and Dan Voller both running identical times. Ian was just ahead though, finishing in 11th position with Dan 12th. Both had a fantastic run, breaking the all important hour barrier in a time of 59:43. Ian knocked over 3 minutes off his PB while it was Dan’s first attempt at the distance.

Next back was Dave Tyler who finished 22nd in a time of 1:02:24 ahead of Torben Jessen who finished in 48th place in a PB time of 1:05:13. This meant that Folkestone sealed the men’s 1st team prize.

Stuart Sprinks was the next to cross the line in a time of 1:11:59 ahead of Liam Cumber, also making his debut over the distance, in a time of 1:15:12. Charlotte Avery was next to finish in 1:16:47 and 14th lady ahead of Tony Scott in 1:18:51 and Danielle Inglestone who ran a PB to finish in 1:19:57. Not far behind was Vicki Scott who finished in 1:20:04 - another big PB.




Victoria Green completed the course next in 1:25:32 ahead of Steve King, making his last appearance in a Folkestone vest, who ran 1:26:03. John O’Hara was another runner who set a new PB crossing the line in 1:26:20 ahead of Gary Brazier in 1:28:43, Gail Turbutt in 1:28:12, Jenny Quinn in 1:30:22 and Diane Parsons in 1:36:19.

Last weekend at the Kent Schools Cross Country Championships, Olivia Young ran in the junior girls category representing Shepway. In a large field of 115 runners, Olivia had a great run to finish in a very strong 58th place.

Saturday morning saw another big turnout of runners at various parkruns. Up on the Leas in Folkestone, Steve O’Brien put in a rare appearance to finish 2nd overall in a time of 18:15. Next to finish was James Whitham in 18:46 ahead of Joe Bruce in 19:16 who beat dad Tristan who finished in a time of 19:23.

Next back was Dave Gillett in 20:15 followed by Levi Atwell and Debbie Jeffrey who ran an identical time of 20:46. Paul Bartlett was next in 22:30 followed by Tony Scott (23:10), Richard Fowles (23:49), Kirsty Wilson (24:07), Clive Allon (24:55), Phil Maul (24:41), Carolyn Lewis (26:09), Hazel Green (26:34), Luke Fowles (26:36), Kirsty Gardiner (27:00), Pam Allon (27:15), Linda Robson (27:16), Rupert Howell (27:51), Aldous Hosking (28:30), Gary Brazier (29:01), Debra Moran (30:02), Louise Fowler (31:45), Catherine Anne Curtis (35:00), Kate Lancefield (35:39), Lisa Smith (35:40), Elizabeth Smith (36:53) and Nicola James (38:35).

Over in Poland, Emma Creasey had another great run to finish first overall at the Warszawa-Ursynow event in a time of 20:12. Darren Crew and Jody Stoakes travelled to Southwark where Darren finished in 19th position in a time of 19:44 and Jody finished in 189th place in a time of 26:43.


Nick Steele 2019-01-28 23:28:22


Annual news archives

| 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |

About Us

Folkestone Running Club is a small friendly club for runners with ability ranging from elite to those that run less competitively, in Folkestone and surrounding areas in Kent. We also have a partnership club Folkestone Running Club Juniors for the under 13 age group. 

All adults wishing to join should be capable of running a 5k and be willing/able to join in the workout sessions put on by the coaches.

Further information about the club is available here.

Join us here: Adults & Juniors (Year 8 upwards only) 









Supporting Folkestone parkrun

Click on picture for details






© 2019 Folkestone Running Club

Site Map
New! Privacy and Cookies

Website Design in Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15