Huge success at Deal 5

The Deal 5 took place this weekend and the fast and flat course attracted a large contingent of runners from Folkestone. The club certainly made its presence known as there were a plenty of great performances and lots of trophies awarded as a result, including both the male and female team prizes.

Fastest run of the day came from Stephen Male who finished in 4th overall and also scooped the 1st Vet 50 prize in a time of 28:08. Not far behind was Ian McGilloway who after a very close battle, finished 7th overall in a time of 28:38 and also clinched the 1st Vet 40 prize by a whisker.

Next back for the club was Torben Jessen who crossed the line in 16th position in a very strong 30:35. Dominic Woolford was not far behind, making his 5 mile debut and crossing the line 19th in 31:03 having had some shoelace issues along the way! This was enough for Steve, Ian, Torben and Dom to claim 1st Male Team trophy.

Stuart Erskine was next to finish in 27th place and a time of 32:08 ahead of Emma Creasey who won the prize for 3rd lady overall in a great time of 32:30. Following behind were Chris Woolgar (35:24), Clive Allon (36:32) and Tony Scott (37:24). Kirsty Wilson and Catherine O’Connor were next, sealing the 1st Female Team trophy in the process in times of 37:29 and 37:26.

Vicky Scott completed the course in 38:54 ahead of John O’Hara who had a great run to finish in a PB time of 38:51. Next to finish were Stephen King (39:27), Gail Turbutt (40:18), Alan Randall (40:19), Aldous Hosking (40:48), Andrew Smith (41:17), Carolyn Lewis (41:41), Gary Brazier (42:18), Malcolm Gibbs (43:12), Hayley Kluczynski who ran a PB time of 44:24, Pam Allon (46:47) and Damian Sprigg (46:44). All in all, a very successful morning!

There were still a number of members in action at Parkruns on Saturday morning. In Folkestone, Dan Voller put in a fantastic effort to run a big PB time of 17:17, finishing in 2nd place overall. Continuing his comeback from injury, Kevin Newman was next to finish in 8th place in a time of 19:41 ahead of Tim Warren (20:05) and Stuart Sprinks (20:25).

First lady this week was Caroline Curtis (21:59) who was followed by Chris Woolgar (22:01), Clive Allon (22:59), Tony Scott (23:09), Stuart Erskine (23:28), Vicky Scott (24:02), Nikki Goodwin (24:30), Andy Richardson (24:46), Phil Maul (24:47), Richard Dyer (25:40), Neil Adams (26:24), Aldous Hosking (27:04), Trudi Curd (27:33), Angela Warren (28:26), Pam Allon (28:30), Kirsty Gardner (28:38), Linda Robson (29:26), Jenny Whitehead (30:25), Luke Fowles (30:45), Linsey Tighy (32:03) and Catherine Anne Curtis (33:31).

In the parkrun cup there were only a couple of matches played out as most runners were saving their energy for Deal on Sunday. In the B cup, Caroline Curtis took on Stuart Sprinks, narrowly knocking him out while Kevin Newman was victorious over last year’s champion, Clive Allon.

Over in Ashford, Debbie Jeffery was first lady in a time of 20:33.

FRC at Deal 5
Winning ladies team at Deal 5
Winning mens team at Deal 5
Emma Creasey at Deal 5

Nick Steele 2018-11-05 18:24:04


Annual news archives

| 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |

About Us

Folkestone Running Club is a small friendly club for runners with ability ranging from elite to those that run less competitively, in Folkestone and surrounding areas in Kent. We also have a partnership club Folkestone Running Club Juniors for the under 13 age group. 

All adults wishing to join should be capable of running a 5k and be willing/able to join in the workout sessions put on by the coaches.

Further information about the club is available here.

Join us here: Adults & Juniors (Year 8 upwards only) 









Supporting Folkestone parkrun

Click on picture for details






© 2019 Folkestone Running Club

Site Map
New! Privacy and Cookies

Website Design in Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15